LOS ANGELES DUI ACCIDENT ATTORNEY
Most of us exercise caution while driving for our own safety and those of others. It’s upsetting that regardless of how careful we are on the road that other drivers often show total disregard for our safety. This is especially the case for driving under the influence (DUI) accidents.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a DUI accident, you might be entitled to compensation.
Cohen & Marzban is one of the top Los Angeles DUI accident attorney firms. We help clients who have been injured in a drunk driving accident to receive the compensation they deserve.
24 Hours a Day, 7 Days a Week To Schedule an Appointment.
If you’re unable to travel to our office, we can send a drunk driving accident lawyer to visit you at home or in hospital, anywhere in Southern California.
Why Choose Cohen & Marzban Personal Injury Attorneys?
Results! Results! Results! We have already recovered $2,000,000,000+ for our clients!
With over 45 years of experience, we understand the ins and outs of recovering damages for DUI accident victims.
Our list of accomplishments includes winning The Litigator Award™ – an honor given to only the top 1% of trial attorneys in the United States.
If you need a reputable Los Angeles law firm with top drunk driving accident lawyers on your side, Cohen & Marzban is an obvious choice. We stand ready to help you.
We offer all new clients a FREE consultation to evaluate the merits of your case and we don’t get paid unless you get paid!
Frequently Asked Questions
What is considered a DUI in California?
Under California law, driving under the influence doesn’t only refer to driving under the influence of alcohol, but alcohol and/or drugs. The use of any drug that impairs your ability to drive safely is illegal. This includes prescription, over-the-counter, and illegal drugs.
The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits in California are:
- 0.08% or higher if the person is 21 years or older.
- 0.01% or higher if the person is under 21 years of age.
- 0.01% or higher for anyone on a DUI probation.
- 0.04% or higher for commercial vehicle drivers.
- 0.04% or higher for when a passenger for hire is in the vehicle.
How long do I have to file a lawsuit in California after a DUI accident?
Under the California statute of limitations, you must file a lawsuit within two years after suffering damages in a DUI accident.
Note: There are exceptions to this rule, such as the drunk driver can’t be found or has left the state of California.
To learn if any exceptions to the statute of limitations might apply to your unique case, consult a DUI accident attorney.
Criminal vs. civil DUI proceedings
After a car accident caused by a negligent drunk driver, there will typically be a criminal case and, if the victim chooses to sue, a civil case for personal injury or wrongful death.
Should the driver be found guilty of DUI in a criminal case, it would typically improve the plaintiff’s chances of winning a civil lawsuit based on the negligence per se doctrine.
Under the negligence per se doctrine, defendants are presumed to have acted negligently if they break the law and, in so doing, injure someone. However, a DUI accident attorney still has to prove that this negligence caused the plaintiff’s injuries.
Note: A civil case might be stayed (paused) if a drunk driver is charged with a misdemeanor or felony until the verdict in that case has been delivered.
What damages can I claim in a DUI accident?
Some of the damages you might be able to get compensated for include:
- Past and future medical expenses.
- Lost wages and reduced earning capacity.
- Physical therapy.
- Loss of enjoyment of life.
- Pain and suffering.
- Psychological counseling.
- Disfigurement and loss of limbs.
In addition to the above, you might be able to claim punitive damages. It normally applies to instances of gross negligence where the other party acted with reckless disregard of your rights and safety.
For a detailed explanation on possible damages, contact us. One of our expert DUI accident attorneys will gladly assist you.